After the Funeral
Агата Кристи

1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 >>
After the Funeral
Agatha Christie

The master of a Victorian mansion dies suddenly – and his sister is convinced it was murder….When Cora is savagely murdered with a hatchet, the extraordinary remark she made the previous day at her brother Richard’s funeral suddenly takes on a chilling significance.At the reading of Richard’s will, Cora was clearly heard to say: ‘It’s been hushed up very nicely, hasn’t it…But he was murdered, wasn’t he?’In desperation, the family solicitor turns to Hercule Poirot to unravel the mystery.

Agatha Christie





Published by HarperCollinsPublishers Ltd

1 London Bridge Street

London SE1 9GF (

First published in Great Britain by

Collins 1953

Copyright © 1953 Agatha Christie Ltd.

All rights reserved. (

The moral right of the author is asserted

All rights reserved. This book is sold subject to the condition that it shall not, by way of trade or otherwise, be lent, re-sold, hired out or otherwise circulated without the publisher’s prior consent. No part of this text may be reproduced, transmitted, downloaded, reverse engineered, or stored in or introduced into any information storage and retrieval system, in any form or by any means whether electronic or mechanical, now known or hereinafter invented, without the express written permission of HarperCollins ebooks.

HarperCollinsPublishers has made every reasonable effort to ensure that any picture content and written content in this ebook has been included or removed in accordance with the contractual and technological constraints in operation at the time of publication

Source ISBN: 9780007562695

Ebook Edition 2010 ISBN: 9780007422128

Version: 2018-09-26

For James

in memory of happy days

at Abney


Cover (#u05f882a7-9b05-5113-8235-5c340c2105de)

Title Page (#u042a07b3-fc00-5195-ae5c-8c0f7d5629c7)


After the Funeral: An introduction by Sophie Hannah (#u1f53f68d-9a86-5702-bb35-4eec279e8b3b)

Chapter 1

Chapter 2

Chapter 3

Chapter 4

Chapter 5

Chapter 6

Chapter 7

Chapter 8

Chapter 9

Chapter 10

Chapter 11

Chapter 12

Chapter 13

Chapter 14

Chapter 15

Chapter 16

Chapter 17

Chapter 18

Chapter 19

Chapter 20
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 >>